1(888) 895-6919
Call Now! 1(888) 895-6919

Read what people are saying
about Precision Garage Door

Precision Garage Door of The Greater Boston Metro Area
has received 9 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Review:

Never called back to make a date for install opener after deposit made
Arthur Sullivan
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you for your feed back and your business. We apologize if you felt we did not schedule your follow-up appointment as quickly as you felt was appropriate. For the record we were at your home last Friday 8/10/18 and left at 3:15 pm. On Monday 8/13/18 we called you at 8:31 am and set up your follow-up appointment. Our administrative office closes at 3:30 pm on Friday and reopens at 7:30 am on Monday.

Michael Thurber Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Install
Product:
Garage Door Opener
Technicians:
Review:

Replaced the door sensors and the electrical wire splicing done without connector caps.
Chandradekar Marimuthu
Paul Osborne Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Technicians:
Review:

I paid $3000 for 3 doors and 3 openers. 18 months later I was charged $135 for a 10 minute service call to align the sensors. They could have told me to try the sensor alignment when I called any of the 3 times I spoke with them. The service itself was excellent but it took 10 minutes.
Joe Brenstrom
Paul Osborne Service Provided:
Garage Door Opener Repair
Technicians:
Review:

I called these folks to get a spring replaced on my garage door. I tried to get a price when I called and it sounded like a couple of hundred dollars, or there about. When he came he tried to sell me a door rebuild at 695 a door. When I said how much to just replace the spring he quoted me 395 dollars. I turned him down and paid the 105 service call fee. I then did the repair myself. Total cost 29.95 and 1/2 an hour of labor. I was prepared to pay 200ish for the repair....but really.... I will Never call these people again and I will encourage other people to avoid them.
MS
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are very sorry you didn’t have the kind of experience we strive to provide. Like many locally owned reputable small home services businesses we differentiate ourselves by the level of customer service we provide. We partly do this by sourcing the best parts (longer lasting and much better quality than what is sold at Lowe’s or Home Depot) and by standing behind them and our service with a fantastic warranty. In your specific case, we offered a 1-year warranty for parts and labor, as well as, for the service fee. This means that if the springs were defective and/or discontinued providing the force to open your door within 1-year of installation we would replace them for free (no charge for parts, no labor charge and no service or site visit fee). We are very comfortable that the overwhelming majority of our customers appreciate our level of customer service, our parts and warranty, and the satisfaction of dealing with a company that will stand behind their work. We will never be able to compete with the price of cheap parts from the big box stores, but they do not provide the service and/or customer service that we do.

Paul Osborne Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Technicians:
Review:

Unlike my experience in 2013, I was quite disappointed with Precision the second time around. Will never contact them again. Had a simple problem with a broken spring. The serviceman quoted $700 to do that and a bunch of other unnecessary things. After saying no, he said he'll do the necessary for $400. Thought that was still very high to replace a spring so declined. BEWARE: there's a $135 charge for the service call. This is mentioned on the phone but nowhere in the confirmation letter for the appointment. I declined anyway and got the job done within 15 minutes as expected by a reputable garage door repair company in Nashua. And it cost just $225.
Rajul Shah
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are very sorry you didn’t have the experience you were expecting from us. We sincerely believe that our customers deserve to understand the condition of their door(s) and to have us make recommendations on what work is required to solve the immediate problem, as well as, what other things they should consider having done to their door (things that if left unattended will create future problems). Those other recommendations are the options that the customer implied we were chasing him with. In reviewing our safety inspection from the 2013 service call, we can see that we made several of the same recommendations (replacing worn or fatiguing parts that will cause future problems). Again, we feel it’s our job to make suggestions and to then perform the work that the customer wants. Honestly, it’s kinda unfair to position our options in any other way; specifically, to imply that we are suggesting unnecessary work is to simply not understand what a service company is there to do. Stated simply we provide up to three options and walk the customer through them (explaining why) and then perform the services that the customer feels is right for them. Despite serious cost pressures, the prices for the options provided in 2013 were the same as they were in May of 2018. We are totally upfront with our pricing – we do not do any work without receiving authorization. I’m not sure why the customer feels that we should mention our fees multiple times – once we get acknowledgement from the customer we assume they get it.

Mike Maghakian Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Technicians:
Review:

Absolutely not happy - came out on time but did not make clear on phone that not only was there an installation fee but a service fee as well followed by hourly if went over. So felt it was unfair and really over 500 dollars for springs rollers and new key pad 25 min of work. Never again.
K Mowry
A Response from: Walt Arvin

After listening to your call, we agree that our customer service representative didn’t mention the labor charge. As a result we have refunded the labor fee and also re-enforced with our customer service staff the importance of being thorough in discussing our fee structure with prospective customers. We are sorry about the confusion.

Paul Osborne Service Provided:
Garage Door Repair
Product:
Springs
Technicians:
Review:

the door was damaged on arrival. still waiting for repairs to the door and to many many sighted errors where i took pictures and made a list for the company to address. both the install and quality of the door as of right now do not even deserve a star. extremely poor.
Angel Montanez
A Response from: Walt Arvin

We are sorry for your experience. We understand that the customer is very frustrated when, after waiting on a custom order door, their door comes in damaged. Given that we were going to be replacing the damaged sections the installers did not take their normal care in installing the door. Once the new replacement sections arrived we came out and replaced them and also replaced a defective part of the automatic opener we installed. All seems good now, would welcome an updated review.

Rolando Chaparro Service Provided:
Install Garage Doors
Technicians:
Review:

You gave us an estimate of over $2000. Another company did it for $500. Enough said.
Roger Beatty
A Response from: Walt Arvin

Thank you for you comments. Our quote included new openers and the parts that would make your two garage door's counter balance system work properly. We do not like to install new openers on doors with counter balance systems that would void the warranty and prematurely damage the opener. Ultimately the customer makes the choice that is right for them.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair
Review:

A nice man From your company acme to our home, He told us to fix our garage door it would cost $1300. We decided to wait and think about it. We paid $79 fee. The new repair man just left....he charged us $250.00 and he replaced the springs and the cable and he did NOT have to replace the opener, as your man said would need to be done. Glad we waited well worth wasting the $79.00.
Joyce DiMott
A Response from: Walt Arvin

I am sorry you did not feel that you had a good experience. You did, however, leave out details that change the whole story. The inspection of your door revealed that the springs, cables, and rollers were extremely worn. Specifically, the rollers were not rated for your door and basically was the catalyst for most of your issues. The pulleys were also showing signs of excessive wear -- and unless replaced would prematurely wear out your new springs. We suggested that you replace all those parts, but also gave you an option to replace the springs and pulleys for nearly the same price that the other garage door company charged you. We suggested a new opener -- due to the fact that the unbalanced door had caused the PVC gears to start stripping (look inside your opener cover and you will see the shavings from the gears). We certainly did not tell you you had to replace the opener or replace the rollers -- they were suggestions. Our belief is that we owe it to our customers to explain what is wrong with their door, offer options to fix it (usually a good, better, best type of scenario) and then do what the customer wants. We believe in educating the customer -- we do not employee pressure sales tactics.

Service Provided:
Broken Garage Door Spring Repair