WITH 1,947 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of New England
about Precision Garage Door
has received 17 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Extremely disappointed. When the technician arrived he barely looked at our doors and began trying to sell us on a complete re-build of both doors. All we wanted was spring replacement on one door. The price quoted was more than 10 times the cost of a pair of springs. Felt like pressure to pick the complete re-build. I will do the repair myself and save hundreds. If your business model is to sell complete door re-builds, you should be honest on your website.
- Greg Heath
Technician who came out for an estimate didn’t know the product line and couldn’t answer even the most basic questions.
I will give you a 0 if I could. You charge me $105 to tell me exactly what I knew and the spring is broken. Then you tell me it so $600 to $700 for unnecessary work. The spring on the other side was replace two years ago for less than $200 and the best you can do is $400. All the additional parts and repairs were not needed. You are a disgrace to the service industry. The $105 was theft.
- Bill Siegel
You took a 50% deposit of $1,500 and then called and cancelled the appointment. I was told you would call back with a new date and I've heard nothing and left another message. I am unhappy and the person I spoke to, tom, was rude. I want my money back or an actual call back with a date of when this will be completed. It has been 6 weeks
- Emily Cooper
I appreciate the timeliness of the response. The assessment addressed flaws I was aware of and agreed to look at options for door replacement in the future. A minor adjustment was made to secure the 2x4 and fixing a wire. I specifically asked to make sure the door was opening and closing before he left as I was working. After work the door would not open automatically or manually. At least before he came the door opened manually. I notified Paul and he was indifferent and basically said I needed new doors.
We are very sorry that you feel that you didn’t have the experience you expected. We make every effort to work with our customers to give them the solution that fits their needs. Sometimes things simply don’t workout the way either party wants. As this customer states her doors were not working properly. In fact, both doors needed a great deal of work to the counter balance systems (to make them safe and able to function dependably). Unfortunately, her door sections were also in bad shape (they failed our structural tests). Our technician tried to explain this to the customer, but she had to attend to a conference call and asked him to just make them operable. The technician reattached the operator rail to the header (somehow it had become unattached), re-spliced the wires to the operator safety eyes, and made sure the door could go up and down. The customer did call us back later that day saying the door wasn’t working. We tried to set her up with an appointment, but she did not want us to do that. We agreed not to charge her for the visit, given that she was not happy and that we had not used any parts. We have spoken to this customer several times trying to bring this to a resolution that she was happy with. Obviously, we could not achieve this – again we are sorry, but we fail to see how this was a “terrible” experience. Sometimes customers fail to realize that some doors (especially those that have been neglected and not maintained for years) reach a point that inexpensive band aides simply don’t solve their problems and at times make things worse.
Not happy with your pricing. Told one thing on the phone and then billed for another much higher amount after the tech completed the work. Also invoice had no breakdown on parts or labor charges. Very unprofessional! After this outrageous overcharge I will never recommend your company to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- David Green
Contract says 3 to 4 weeks until delivery, salesperson said four to six weeks, insulation actually took 7 weeks. Mounted the controller next to a window so anybody could just reach in and open up the garage. The Wi-Fi serial numbers don't match. The light doesn't work and they installed the unit with a battery that is more than half dead. In sum not very happy.
- Miriam Tuchman
We had two doors done with Precision Doors this year, one at my home and one at my parents home. In both cases we had to bring a technician back as both projects were done incomplete or not done correctly. I also just had a very unsatisfactory phone call with Precision after the technician completed work at my parents home today and left my 88 year old father with some further work to caulk open areas to close some gaps. Walt I have left you e-mails on the latest issue with no response. I do not plan to do any further business with Precision and will certainly not be recommending your service to friends or family.
- Tim Phillips
Never called back to make a date for install opener after deposit made
- Arthur Sullivan
Thank you for your feed back and your business. We apologize if you felt we did not schedule your follow-up appointment as quickly as you felt was appropriate. For the record we were at your home last Friday 8/10/18 and left at 3:15 pm. On Monday 8/13/18 we called you at 8:31 am and set up your follow-up appointment. Our administrative office closes at 3:30 pm on Friday and reopens at 7:30 am on Monday.
Replaced the door sensors and the electrical wire splicing done without connector caps.
- Chandradekar Marimuthu
I paid $3000 for 3 doors and 3 openers. 18 months later I was charged $135 for a 10 minute service call to align the sensors. They could have told me to try the sensor alignment when I called any of the 3 times I spoke with them. The service itself was excellent but it took 10 minutes.
- Joe Brenstrom
I called these folks to get a spring replaced on my garage door. I tried to get a price when I called and it sounded like a couple of hundred dollars, or there about. When he came he tried to sell me a door rebuild at 695 a door. When I said how much to just replace the spring he quoted me 395 dollars. I turned him down and paid the 105 service call fee. I then did the repair myself. Total cost 29.95 and 1/2 an hour of labor. I was prepared to pay 200ish for the repair....but really.... I will Never call these people again and I will encourage other people to avoid them.
We are very sorry you didn’t have the kind of experience we strive to provide. Like many locally owned reputable small home services businesses we differentiate ourselves by the level of customer service we provide. We partly do this by sourcing the best parts (longer lasting and much better quality than what is sold at Lowe’s or Home Depot) and by standing behind them and our service with a fantastic warranty. In your specific case, we offered a 1-year warranty for parts and labor, as well as, for the service fee. This means that if the springs were defective and/or discontinued providing the force to open your door within 1-year of installation we would replace them for free (no charge for parts, no labor charge and no service or site visit fee). We are very comfortable that the overwhelming majority of our customers appreciate our level of customer service, our parts and warranty, and the satisfaction of dealing with a company that will stand behind their work. We will never be able to compete with the price of cheap parts from the big box stores, but they do not provide the service and/or customer service that we do.
Unlike my experience in 2013, I was quite disappointed with Precision the second time around. Will never contact them again. Had a simple problem with a broken spring. The serviceman quoted $700 to do that and a bunch of other unnecessary things. After saying no, he said he'll do the necessary for $400. Thought that was still very high to replace a spring so declined. BEWARE: there's a $135 charge for the service call. This is mentioned on the phone but nowhere in the confirmation letter for the appointment. I declined anyway and got the job done within 15 minutes as expected by a reputable garage door repair company in Nashua. And it cost just $225.
- Rajul Shah
We are very sorry you didn’t have the experience you were expecting from us. We sincerely believe that our customers deserve to understand the condition of their door(s) and to have us make recommendations on what work is required to solve the immediate problem, as well as, what other things they should consider having done to their door (things that if left unattended will create future problems). Those other recommendations are the options that the customer implied we were chasing him with. In reviewing our safety inspection from the 2013 service call, we can see that we made several of the same recommendations (replacing worn or fatiguing parts that will cause future problems). Again, we feel it’s our job to make suggestions and to then perform the work that the customer wants. Honestly, it’s kinda unfair to position our options in any other way; specifically, to imply that we are suggesting unnecessary work is to simply not understand what a service company is there to do. Stated simply we provide up to three options and walk the customer through them (explaining why) and then perform the services that the customer feels is right for them. Despite serious cost pressures, the prices for the options provided in 2013 were the same as they were in May of 2018. We are totally upfront with our pricing – we do not do any work without receiving authorization. I’m not sure why the customer feels that we should mention our fees multiple times – once we get acknowledgement from the customer we assume they get it.
Absolutely not happy - came out on time but did not make clear on phone that not only was there an installation fee but a service fee as well followed by hourly if went over. So felt it was unfair and really over 500 dollars for springs rollers and new key pad 25 min of work. Never again.
- K Mowry
After listening to your call, we agree that our customer service representative didn’t mention the labor charge. As a result we have refunded the labor fee and also re-enforced with our customer service staff the importance of being thorough in discussing our fee structure with prospective customers. We are sorry about the confusion.
North Weymouth, MA
the door was damaged on arrival. still waiting for repairs to the door and to many many sighted errors where i took pictures and made a list for the company to address. both the install and quality of the door as of right now do not even deserve a star. extremely poor.
- Angel Montanez
We are sorry for your experience. We understand that the customer is very frustrated when, after waiting on a custom order door, their door comes in damaged. Given that we were going to be replacing the damaged sections the installers did not take their normal care in installing the door. Once the new replacement sections arrived we came out and replaced them and also replaced a defective part of the automatic opener we installed. All seems good now, would welcome an updated review.
You gave us an estimate of over $2000. Another company did it for $500. Enough said.
- Roger Beatty
Thank you for you comments. Our quote included new openers and the parts that would make your two garage door's counter balance system work properly. We do not like to install new openers on doors with counter balance systems that would void the warranty and prematurely damage the opener. Ultimately the customer makes the choice that is right for them.
A nice man From your company acme to our home, He told us to fix our garage door it would cost $1300. We decided to wait and think about it. We paid $79 fee. The new repair man just left....he charged us $250.00 and he replaced the springs and the cable and he did NOT have to replace the opener, as your man said would need to be done. Glad we waited well worth wasting the $79.00.
- Joyce DiMott
I am sorry you did not feel that you had a good experience. You did, however, leave out details that change the whole story. The inspection of your door revealed that the springs, cables, and rollers were extremely worn. Specifically, the rollers were not rated for your door and basically was the catalyst for most of your issues. The pulleys were also showing signs of excessive wear -- and unless replaced would prematurely wear out your new springs. We suggested that you replace all those parts, but also gave you an option to replace the springs and pulleys for nearly the same price that the other garage door company charged you. We suggested a new opener -- due to the fact that the unbalanced door had caused the PVC gears to start stripping (look inside your opener cover and you will see the shavings from the gears). We certainly did not tell you you had to replace the opener or replace the rollers -- they were suggestions. Our belief is that we owe it to our customers to explain what is wrong with their door, offer options to fix it (usually a good, better, best type of scenario) and then do what the customer wants. We believe in educating the customer -- we do not employee pressure sales tactics.